

## **BRIEF HISTORY OF THE CARIBBEAN EQUESTRIAN ASSOCIATION**

The Caribbean Equestrian Association was formed in 1997 which is when the first CEA competition took place and included the countries of Antigua, Barbados, Jamaica and Trinidad.

Between 1995 and 1997 the President of the CEA, Mrs. Betty Wates, had been going to Trinidad to teach. During that time, Trinidad invited Jamaica to participate in a friendly junior jumping show, and from this, the idea of incorporating all of the English-speaking islands in a competition on borrowed horses developed. There was no constitution at this time, just some basic rules for the Junior Jumping competition.

The first countries in the CEA were Antigua, Barbados, Jamaica and Trinidad. Guadeloupe was the next country to join in 1998, but they withdrew the following year after the untimely death of the driving force behind them, Bernard Payne.

- In 1998, the first informal Dressage competition took place
- In 1999, Bermuda joined the CEA
- In 2000, the CEA Constitution was drawn up.
- In 2001, the Cayman Islands joined the CEA
- In 2004, at the AGM in Jamaica the CEA Mini Dressage Competition was formalized. Rules for this dressage competition were worked on by the Barbados Dressage Committee
- In 2005, the Bahamas expressed an interest in joining the CEA and attended the AGM to get a better understanding of the Association. However, they did not join the CEA.
- In 2006, the CEA Adult Jumping competition was formed under the Chairmanship of Patrice Stollmeyer (Trinidad)
- In 2014, the CEA Regional Jumping Competition was created at the suggestion of Patrice Stollmeyer (Trinidad)
- During 2015, the last Junior Show Jumping Competition was held. Although this was the original competition that led to the creation of the CEA, the event has been difficult for some islands to host either for lack of enough owners willing to lend horses, or a lack of qualified junior riders available to participate.

The CEA Committee consists of a President, Vice President, Treasurer and a Secretary The constitution states that an officer who has held that office for three consecutive terms shall not be eligible for re-election as such for a period of one term.

## **RECORDED PRESIDENTS**

2002 – 2005: Betty Wates (Jamaica) 2006 – 2011: Di Clarke (Barbados) 2012 – present: Mary Alberga (Cayman Islands)